and now a word from our Father…

John 2:23-25

New American Standard Bible (NASB)

23 Now when He was in Jerusalem at the Passover, during the feast, many believed in His name, observing His signs which He was doing. 24 But Jesus, on His part, was not entrusting Himself to them, for He knew all men, 25 and because He did not need anyone to testify concerning man, for He Himself knew what was in man.

<http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=john%202:23-25&version=NASB&gt;

This passage puzzles and intrigues me. Mainly because of the word in bold above:  “entrusting.” I see that Jesus is doing signs. I see that people are believing in His name (If I understand correctly:  name= authority, status as Son of God; believed= trusted, depended on for rescue), and I understand that Jesus has His ways, because He is different than us. He knows exactly what we’re made of (He made us) and what’s in us (He can see into us).

What I don’t understand is what Jesus was not doing, “entrusting Himself to them,” and what that means for His character. When I looked up “entrust” in my Strong’s NASB Exhaustive Concordance, I found a word in the Hebrew side that was, no joke, “meh,” and meant almost nothing.

And as I was writing that paragraph, that’s when I realized… the Book of John wasn’t written in Hebrew ^_^;

But now that I’ve read the Greek translation–“entrust,” “believe,”– it still doesn’t resolve it for me. This will be a fun passage to mull over today.

 

What do you think?

