Landwhale Rescue — revision 1

Not satisfied with the lineation, but this is just the 1st revision from my initial notes, jotted on the back inside cover of my now latest used-up journal.

How I’m feeling these days…  Since it’s fairly nebulous at this stage, I offer the following epigrams to hopefully shed light while we wait for the workshop dust to settle, and the lines I sand to smooth.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Landwhale Rescue

“I had been my whole life a bell, and never knew it until at that moment I was lifted and struck.”
Annie Dillard, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek

But I will warn you whom to fear: fear the One who, after He has killed, has authority to cast into hell; yes, I tell you, fear Him! Are not five sparrows sold for two cents? Yet not one of them is forgotten before God. Indeed, the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Do not fear; you are more valuable than many sparrows.”

―Jesus Christ, Luke 12:5-7

 

I’m a whale with two crossed

spoons, and OH, I just

realized I’m a whale.

 

My airhole is burning, I’ve

never been so hungry– and,

baby, I’m a whale: I’ve been

 

starving my whole life–

with these dirty pebbles, splintered

twigs digging in my skin.

 

You say

I look gray. If the

encyclopedia is right, I

 

should be blue and

covered in pounds of

barnacles, not this

 

rocky, spiney scabbing.

How does a gray whale

get back into the sea?

 

Lifted, I reckon,

by the finpits,

tossed not like

 

a bad catch of mackerel,

but with all the tender

sleekness of a carnival

 

goldfish in

a $20

fishbowl.

 

What do you think?

